HIIK

Deutsch

Methodological Approach up to 2011

Conflicts

Conflicts are clashes of interest (differences of position) concerning national values (territory, secession, decolonization, autonomy, system/ideology, national power, regional predominance, international power, resources, other). These clashes are of a certain duration and scope, involving at least two parties (organized groups, states, groups of states, organizations of states) determined to pursue their interests and win their cases.

Conflict Intensity

The Conflict Barometer distinguishes (as does the conflict database, COSIMO/CONIS) between violent and non-violent conflicts. Due to the fact that – unlike other lists of conflicts – we also mention non-violent conflicts, we gain two important advantages:

1. All violent conflicts evolve from non-violent conflicts. Further, violent conflicts are not terminated through “sudden peace”. Instead, tensions are reduced gradually and and this process will have its ups and downs. The Conflict Barometer also monitors a conflict if it is no longer conducted with the use of violence, and checks whether the end of a violent dispute actually means the end of a conflict. The same applies to COSIMO/CONIS.

2. Restricting oneself to researching violent conflicts alone means losing sight of conflicts solved peacefully. Noting and analyzing cases in which crisis management succeeded in preventing outbreaks of violence, however, provides for a comprehensive and intelligent view of the world and its conflicts.

Table: Conflict Intensities

State of Violence Intensity Group Level of Intensity Name of Intensity Definition
non-violent low 1 Latent Conflict A positional difference over definable values of national meaning is considered to be a latent conflict if respective demands are ar ticulated by one of the parties and perceived by the other as such.
2 Manifest Conflict A manifest conflict includes the use of measures that are located in the preliminary stage to violent force. This includes for example verbal pressure, threatening explicitly with violence, or the imposition of economic sanctions.
violent medium 3 Crisis A crisis is a tense situation in which at least one of the par ties uses violent force in sporadic incidents.
high 4 Severe Crisis A conflict is considered to be a severe crisis if violent force is repeatedly used in an organized way.
5 War A war is a type of violent conflict in which violent force is used with a certain continuity in an organized and systematic way. The conflict parties exercise extensive measures, depending on the situation. The extent of destruction is massive and of long duration.

HIIK

English

Methodik bis 2011

Konflikte

Konflikte sind Interessengegensätze (Positionsdifferenzen) um nationale Werte (Territorium, Sezession, Dekolonisation, Autonomie, System/ Ideologie, Nationale Macht, Regionale Vorherrschaft, Internationale Macht, Ressourcen, Sonstiges) von einiger Dauer und Reichweite zwischen mindestens zwei Parteien (organisierte Gruppen, Staaten, Staatengruppen, Staatenorganisationen), die entschlossen sind, sie zu ihren Gunsten zu entscheiden.

Konfliktintensität

Das Konfliktbarometer unterscheidet (wie auch die Konfliktdatenbank KOSIMO/CONIS) gewaltsame und nicht gewaltsame Konflikte. Durch die, im Vergleich zu anderen Konfliktauflistungen, Besonderheit, auch nicht gewaltsame Konflikte zu benennen, gewinnen wir zwei wichtige Vorteile:

1. Alle gewaltsamen Konflikte entstehen aus nicht gewaltsamen Konflikten. Ebenso gilt, dass gewaltsame Konflikte nicht durch einen "plötzlichen Frieden" beendet werden, sondern sich die Spannungen schrittweise und mit Schwankungen abbauen. Das Konfliktbarometer, gleiches gilt für KOSIMO/CONIS, verfolgt einen Konflikt, auch wenn er nicht mehr gewaltsam ausgetragen wird und prüft, ob das Ende einer gewaltsamen Auseinandersetzung tatsächlich das Ende des Konfliktes ist.

2. Die Beschränkung der Untersuchungen allein auf gewaltsame Konflikte verstellt den Blick auf jene Konflikte, die friedlich gelöst wurden. Aber erst die Kenntnisnahme und die Analyse jener Fälle, in denen das Krisenmanagement den Ausbruch von Gewalt verhindern konnte, ermöglicht einen umfassenden und verständnisvollen Blick auf die Welt und ihre Konflikte.

Tabelle: Konfliktintensitäten

Gewalt- grad Int.- Gruppe Int.- stufe Intensitäts- bezeichnung Definition
nicht gewaltsam niedrig 1 Latenter Konflikt Eine Positionsdifferenz um definierbare Werte von nationaler Bedeutung ist dann ein latenter Konflikt, wenn darauf bezogene Forderungen von einer Partei artikuliert und von der anderen Seite wahrgenommen werden.
2 Manifester Konflikt Ein manifester Konflikt beinhaltet den Einsatz von Mitteln, welche im Vorfeld gewaltsamer Handlungen liegen. Dies umfasst beispielsweise verbalen Druck, die öffentliche Androhung von Gewalt oder das Verhängen von ökonomischen Zwangsmaßnahmen.
gewaltsam mittel 3 Krise Eine Krise ist ein Spannungszustand, in dem mindestens eine der Parteien vereinzelt Gewalt anwendet.
hoch 4 Ernste Krise Als ernste Krise wird ein Konflikt dann bezeichnet, wenn wiederholt und organisiert Gewalt eingesetzt wird.
5 Krieg Kriege sind Formen gewaltsamen Konfliktaustrags, in denen mit einer gewissen Kontinuität organisiert und systematisch Gewalt eingesetzt wird. Die Konfliktparteien setzen, gemessen an der Situation, Mittel in großem Umfang ein. Das Ausmaß der Zerstörung ist nachhaltig.