HIIK

Deutsch

Methodological Approach up to 2002

Conflicts

As a generic term, “conflict” encompasses clashes of interest (differences of position) concerning national values (independence, self-determination, borders, and territory). These clashes are of a certain duration and scope, involving at least two parties (states, groups of states or organizations of states, organized groups), of which at least one party is the acknowledged representation of the state. The parties involved have to be determined on resolving the issue in their favor.

Conflict Intensity

The Conflict Barometer distinguishes (as does the conflict database, COSIMO) between violent and non-violent conflicts. Due to the fact that – unlike other lists of conflicts – we also mention non-violent conflicts, we gain two important advantages:

1. All violent conflicts evolve from non-violent conflicts. Further, violent conflicts are not terminated through “sudden peace”. Instead, tensions are reduced gradually and and this process will have its ups and downs. The Conflict Barometer also monitors a conflict if it is no longer conducted with the use of violence, and checks whether the end of a violent dispute actually means the end of a conflict. The same applies to COSIMO.

2. Restricting oneself to researching violent conflicts alone means losing sight of conflicts solved peacefully. Noting and analyzing cases in which crisis management succeeded in preventing outbreaks of violence, however, provides for a comprehensive and intelligent view of the world and its conflicts.

Therefore, we distinguish the intensity of conflicts as follows:

  • Intensity 1: latent conflict (totally non-violent)
  • Intensity 2: crisis (predominantly non-violent)
  • Intensity 3: severe crisis (sporadic, irregular use of violence)
  • Intensity 4: war (systematic and collective use of violence and regular fighting troops)

Conflicts of the intensity levels 1 and 2 are of a predominantly non-violent character; conflicts of the intensity levels 3 and 4 are generally conducted violently or martially.

HIIK

English

Methodik bis 2002

Konflikte

"Konflikt" als Oberbegriff umfasst Interessengegensätze (Positionsdifferenzen) um nationale Werte (Unabhängigkeit, Selbstbestimmung, Grenzen und Territorium) von einiger Dauer und Reichweite zwischen mindestens zwei Parteien (Staaten, Staatengruppen, bzw. Staatenorganisationen, organisierte Gruppen). Die Beteiligten, wovon mindestens einer die anerkannte Vertretung eines Staat ist, müssen entschlossen sein, die Interessensgegensätze zu ihren Gunsten zu entscheiden.

Konfliktintensität

Das Konfliktbarometer unterscheidet (wie auch die Konfliktdatenbank KOSIMO/CONIS) gewaltsame und nicht gewaltsame Konflikte. Durch die, im Vergleich zu anderen Konfliktauflistungen, Besonderheit, auch nicht gewaltsame Konflikte zu benennen, gewinnen wir zwei wichtige Vorteile:

1. Alle gewaltsamen Konflikte entstehen aus nicht gewaltsamen Konflikten. Ebenso gilt, dass gewaltsame Konflikte nicht durch einen "plötzlichen Frieden" beendet werden, sondern sich die Spannungen schrittweise und mit Schwankungen abbauen. Das Konfliktbarometer, gleiches gilt für KOSIMO/CONIS, verfolgt einen Konflikt, auch wenn er nicht mehr gewaltsam ausgetragen wird und prüft, ob das Ende einer gewaltsamen Auseinandersetzung tatsächlich das Ende des Konfliktes ist.

2 Die Beschränkung der Untersuchungen allein auf gewaltsame Konflikte verstellt den Blick auf jene Konflikte, die friedlich gelöst wurden. Aber erst die Kenntnisnahme und die Analyse jener Fälle, in denen das Krisenmanagement den Ausbruch von Gewalt verhindern konnte, ermöglicht einen umfassenden und verständnisvollen Blick auf die Welt und ihre Konflikte.

Die Intensität von Konflikten unterscheiden wir deshalb in:

  • Intensität 1: latente Konflikt (vollkommen gewaltfrei)
  • Intensität 2: Krise (überwiegend gewaltfrei)
  • Intensität 3: ernste Krise (sporadischer, unregelmäßiger Gewalteinsatz)
  • Intensität 4: Krieg (systematischer und kollektiver Einsatz von
    Gewalt und regulärer Kampftruppen)

Konflikte der Intensitäten 1 und 2 haben vorwiegend gewaltlosen Charakter; Konflikte der Intensitäten 3 und 4 werden hauptsächlich gewaltsam oder kriegerisch ausgetragen.